Metropolitan Toronto.

for the incorporation of towns; by the beginning of 1959 three villages had attained town status and three cities had reverted to village status. Municipalities are supervised by the Department of Municipal Affairs.

Yukon and Northwest Territories.—There are two cities and one town in the Yukon Territory and two local administrative districts in the Northwest Territories. all of which provide some municipal services to their local areas. These are not shown in Table 53.

53.—Official Designation and Statistical Classification of Municipalities, by Province, as at Jan. 1, 1959

Item	Nfld.	P.E.I.	N.S.	N.B.	Que.	Ont.	Man.	Sask.	Alta.	B.C.	Total
	Official Designation ¹										
i	No.	No.	No.	No.	No.	No.	No.	No.	No.	No.	No.
Local municipalities. Cities. Towns. Villages Rural ⁶	74 2 404 325	24 1 7 16	66 2 40	423 6 20 1 15	1,669 54 160 336 1,119	938 30 157 154 5977	190 6 35 37 1128	781 10 104 371 296°	301 9 86 156 5010	125 32 3 60 30 ¹¹	4,210 152 652 1,163 2,243
Quebec and Ontario counties					7512	3913					114
Totals, Incorporated Municipalities	74	24	66	42	1,744	977	190	781	301	125	4,324
	STATISTICAL CLASSIFICATION ²										
	No.	No.	No.	No.	No.	No.	No.	No.	No.	No.	No.
Municipalities in metropolitan areas ¹⁴	2 2 	 ::-	3 2 1	5 3 2	76 58 18	39 22 17	14 7 7	::	11 6 5	19 7 12	169 107 62
Other urban municipalities	72	24	40	24	492	319	71	485	245	88	1,860
Other rural municipalities Semi-urban Other	 	::	23 23	13 13	1,101 1,101	580 57 ¹⁵ 523	105 105	296 296	45 45	 18	2,181 57 2,124
Quebec and Ontario counties					75	39			•••		114
Totals, Incorporated Municipalities	74	24	66	42	1,744	977	190	781	301	125	4,324

¹ Municipalities grouped according to their official nomenclature, which is roughly indicative of size and nature (see footnote 6).
² Municipalities grouped under the classification devised by the Dominion-Provincial Conferences on Municipal Statistics, designed to bring municipalities into comparable groups for statistical presentation.
³ Excludes 54 local improvement districts.
⁴ Designated by the province as towns (33), rural districts (4), and local improvement districts (3); all operate under the same Act.
⁵ Classified by the province as "community councils".
⁴ Rural nunicipalities are designated by different provinces.
⁵ Includes 24 improvement districts.
⁵ Includes 3 units of self-government known as "suburban municipalities"; excludes local government districts.
⁵ Excludes 12 local districts.
¹ Excludes 12 local improvement districts.
¹ Excludes 2 local districts.
¹ Excludes 2 local districts.
¹ Excludes 2 local districts.
□ E and local improvement districts (3); all operate under the same Act.

Classified by the province as "community councils".

Rural municipalities are designated by different names in the different provinces.

Includes 24 improvement districts.

Lical Survey of Survey 15 Classified by province as suburban and semi-urban.